Kanchenjunga 8586 m
Summited 23.05.1993 by East ridge from Sikkim, Indian-Ukrainian Expedition
It was my the first eight thousander - technically difficult, and safety was problematic on the route

The team members:
1. Sviridenko V., head of the expedition
2. Sytnik M., head of climbing
3. Alperin V.
4. Boyko V.
5. Dityuk Y.
6. Dudko V.
7. Haraldin A.
8. Ibrahim-Zade D.
9. Klovanich S.
10. Parkhomenko A.
11. Prodan S.
12. Serenkov P.
13. Serpak A.
14. Terzyul V.
15. Vlasenko A.
16. Zeid P

Vadim Sviridenko, Master of Sport, Honored Coach of Ukraine, city of Odessa:

Before the Kanchenjunga expedition we climbed Nanda Devi in 1991. It was the first expedition to India organized from the city of Odessas mountaineering community. No one cooperated with Indian climbers before that. We yearned for the Himalayas and dreamed about them enthusiastically. At that time I was supported by Odessas authorities and I proved able to manage the expedition. Slava Terzyul was a member of the team. I cannot say that he stood out from the other participants - the expedition was too large. It is worth mentioning that he was an absolutely perfect team member. He never troubled me, was very diligent and never needed to discuss topics in vain. Terzyul and Gorbenko were partners and they climbed Nanda Devi in dashing style. Our background experience and expertise were much better than that of the Indian members of the joint expedition. At that time, Terzyul was formally a mountaineer of the 1st grade (middle category) according to our domestic classification. For that expedition to Nanda Devi, it was not necessary to be of a higher class because the route was simple enough. We had a good start, and succeeded in our cooperation with the Indians. And so I began to prepare an expedition to an eight thousand meter peak. To climb Kanchenjunga from the Indian side, the route of P.Bauer in 1931, was our choice. In those times the Germans were considered to be the strongest mountaineers in the world, but they failed to reached the summit. On the other hand they had passed across the tremendous icy ridge. Sikkim is on the Tibetan border in a zone of permanent conflicts. There are even territories reinforced with military presence in the mountains. Therefore the Europeans did not visit the region often to climb. The route to the summit had been climbed twice by Japanese and Indians, and we were the first European team to attempt the summit along this route. The entry to the route starts from the south side in Sikkim. It goes in the direction of the Zemu glacier, then from advanced base camp on the upper part of the glacier over a small icefall to arrive at the location of the first camp. Next comes the ridge stretching long and monotonously from 5400m up to 7800m to a pinnacle which the Germans called sugar head. It is a difficult, icy ridge with cornices on both sides. There are no rocks at all. Our guys sometimes crossed only 100 meters per day. There was a shortage of ice screws and it was extremely dangerous. It was necessary to use fixed ropes all the time for safety. Descending was possible only with fixed ropes; one had to be roped at all times. Later, Terzyul would say that he had never seen anything like that on other 8000m peaks.

During the Kanchenjunga expedition, just as on Nanda Devi, Slava fulfilled his part of the tactical plan and carried his share of the loads. He didnt grumble, be difficult or discuss things needlessly. He compensated for any lack of skill and experience with inexhaustible energy and optimism. There was no need to ask him to go make an overview of some part of the route or to take up ropes that the Japanese presented us for fixing. Terzyul was everywhere. I noted his addiction to introspection. I liked that in his days off, he often tried to be alone with himself. He went to take photos or to swim somewhere. Later he began to construct a sauna - it was his hobby. He always brought mustard, cooked with some flavourings. I like it if a person has nice individual features, interweaving them with the common human fabric. The route Terzyul climbed was with M.Sytnik, Master of Sport of International Class (M.Gorbenko did not take part in this expedition). They both had good mutual understanding and climbed the mountain in excellent style without any delay.


The group of climbers is 10 m from the top, V.Terzyul is on right.

Slava didnt tell me that he did not want to use oxygen. He carried bottles but didnt use them. He is not a giant in his constitution but he endured the fatigue and never complained about it. He seems to have something physiologically that is not given to most people his respiratory tract worked wonderfully as did his cardiovascular system. He never suffered from loss of appetite or of weight, and this reflects a human ability not to use oxygen. The only problem was that he was not indifferent to any gear that had been abandoned on the route. Everything attracted him - an ice-axe, a tent, a rope. It irritated some guys. I tried to explain that he had a lot of unused energy. After the summit, he stayed several days in the summit camp at 8100m to wait for Ibrahim-Zade and Parchomenko but they failed to meet each other. While staying there Slava found the summit tent of Wanda Rutkevich. He was the first to find this tent since her death. Later he handed over to me some of her things - the flag and a few small souvenirs, I saved them till now. We worried about him staying too long on the route - he descended alone with a heavy burden and it even angered other BC inhabitants. When Slava arrived at the first camp he picked up a broken portable radio transmitter abandoned there, repaired it and contacted base camp with it. I said Guys, look, he is not a radio operator, not a specialized engineer, he is just a normal fellow, not lazy - he got there, examined the situation, repaired it and made no excuses for this delay on the route.

Later we began to think about the next eight thousand meter peak. For a long time Slava didnt reply to my proposal to climb all fourteen peaks over eight thousand meters. He had doubts about how to combine the prospect with his work and family. I began to tell him about that idea after the Broad Peak (1995) expedition. We met Scott Fisher, the famous American climber, there and I proposed that he take Slava on the Everest expedition in 1996. Scott and Slava liked one another but at that time Scott had already engaged several very strong guides for the 1996 Everest expedition, including Anatoli Boukreev. Terzyul developed a good character - a sociability. Slava was easily accepted into the international mountaineering community; his path crossed that of many well-known climbers. At the bottom of Broad Peak he became acquainted with some Polish alpinists, who invited him on an Annapurna expedition in autumn of 1996.

БиографияВосьмитысячники
 
 
Канченджанга 8586 м
23.05.1993, Восточный гребень через Сикким, Индо-украинская экспедиция.
"Это мой первый восьмитысячник – технически сложный и проблематичный по безопасности маршрут…"

Состав команды:
1. Свириденко В.С. – руководитель экспедиции
2. Ситник М.А. – руководитель восхождения
3. Альперин В.
4. Бойко В.
5. Власенко А.
6. Дитюк Ю.
7. Дудко В.
8. Зайд П.
9. Ибрагим-Заде Д.
10. Клованич С.
11. Пархоменко А.
12. Продан С.
13. Серенков П.
14. Серпак А.
15. Терзыул В.
16. Харалдин А.

Свириденко В.С., МС, заслуженный тренер Украины, г. Одесса:

Перед экспедицией на Канченджангу было восхождение на в. Нанда-Деви в 1991 г. Это была первая экспедиция в Индию на уровне города. До этого с Индией никто не сотрудничал. А нам немыслимо хотелось в Гималаи, все мечты были с этим связаны. Тогда в Одессе меня все поддержали, и я смог организовать экспедицию. В составе был Слава Терзыул. Я не могу сказать, что он как-то выделялся, экспедиция была довольно большая. Но главная черта, которую я могу выделить, - он был идеальным участником. Слава совершенно не создавал проблем, был исполнительным и не вступал в ненужные дискуссии. Терзыул шел в связке с Горбенко, и они лихо сделали Нанда-Деви. Наш уровень по сравнению с индийскими участниками был очень высоким. У него тогда был 1 разряд, большего и не требовалось, маршрут был достаточно простой. Начало было положено, связи с Индией налажены, и я стал готовить экспедицию на восьмитысячник. Для восхождения была выбрана Канченджанга с индийской стороны, маршрут Пауля Бауэра 1931 года. В то время немцы были сильнейшими в мире, но они не дошли до вершины, зато прошли огромный ледовый гребень. Это район Сиккима, граница с Тибетом, зона постоянных пограничных конфликтов, там есть целые укрепленные районы в горах. Поэтому европейцы мало посещали эти места. До конца маршрут дважды ходили японцы с индусами, и мы были первой европейской командой, которая его прошла. Выход на маршрут идет с юга из Сиккима на ледник Зему, затем с его верховий из передового базового лагеря через небольшой ледопад есть проход к первому лагерю. И дальше идет выход на гребень, который тянется длинно и нудно с высоты 5400 м до 7800 м к сахарной голове, - немцы так назвали жандарм. Это сложный ледовый гребень с карнизами на разные стороны, там вообще нет выходов скал. Ребята проходили по 100 метров в день, не всегда хватало крючьев, было очень сложно, необходимы перила. Спускаться можно только по веревкам, нигде нельзя отвязаться, обязательна непрерывная страховка. Терзыул говорил, что ничего подобного на других восьмитысячниках не встречал.

На Канченджанге, как и в предыдущей экспедиции, Слава выполнял тактический план, нес груз, не роптал, не высовывался и не позволял ненужных дискуссий. Он восполнял отсутствие школы и альпинистского опыта неизбывной энергией и оптимизмом. Его не надо было просить что-то сделать - пойти на разведку, пойти снять веревки, которые японцы предложили нам для перил. Кто везде, - Терзыул. Для себя я отметил его склонность к самоанализу. Мне нравилось, что он часто в дни отдыха старался побыть один, ходил снимать, искупаться там где-то. Потом он стал сооружать бани - это его хобби. Он всегда привозил с собой горчицу, делал какие-то соусы.
Мне импонирует, когда у человека есть милые индивидуальные черты и он вплетается со своим рисунком в общую канву. На маршруте Терзыул шел в связке с Мишей Ситником, МСМК (Горбенко тогда не участвовал в экспедиции). У них с Мишей было очень хорошее взаимопонимание, они вместе достойнейшим образом без всяких задержек взошли на вершину.


Группа восходителей: Харалдин А., Бойко В., Ситник М., Терзыул В. в 10 метрах от вершины.

Слава мне не говорил, что не хочет идти с кислородом, все время тащил баллоны, но ими не пользовался. Он вообще не гигант по телосложению, но переносил большие нагрузки и ни единого писка не издавал. Видимо, у него было то, что не дано многим - у него великолепно работал дыхательный аппарат, вся сердечно-сосудистая система. Он никогда не жаловался на отсутствие аппетита или потерю веса, а это отражает способность человека не использовать кислород. Единственная проблема: Слава был неравнодушен ко всему, что оставалось на маршруте. Его влекло все – ледоруб, палатка, веревка. Это вызывало у многих ребят раздражение, и я старался все объяснить тем, что у него много нерастраченных сил. На спуске Слава остался на несколько дней в штурмовом лагере на 8100 м: он ждал Ибрагима-Заде и Пархоменко, но они разминулись. Когда Слава там находился, он первым после гибели Ванды Руткевич нашел ее штурмовую палатку. Потом он передал мне ее личные вещи - это был флаг и несколько мелких сувениров, я их храню до сих пор. Мы переживали, что Слава задержался - он спускался один с большим грузом, это даже вызвало дискуссии в БЛ. А Слава, придя в первый лагерь, нашел поломанную радиостанцию, которую все бросили и не пользовались, наладил ее и вышел на связь. Я говорю: ребята, смотрите, он же не радист, не инженер какой-то суперспециальности, просто нормальный парень и не сидит сложа руки – пришел, собрал, починил и как бы снял все претензии к себе из-за задержки на маршруте.

Потом уже мы стали думать о следующих восьмитысячниках. Надо сказать, что Слава долго не откликался на мое предложение взойти на все восьмитысячники. У него были сомнения, как это сочетать с работой, с семьей. Я начал ему говорить об этом сразу после Броуд Пика. Там мы встретили Скота Фишера, известного американского альпиниста, и я предложил ему взять Славу на Эверест. Скот и Слава симпатизировали друг другу, но у Скота тогда уже были приглашены очень сильные гиды, в том числе Анатолий Букреев. Тогда уже у Терзыула проявилась хорошая черта – коммуникабельность. Слава с легкостью влился в интернациональное альпинистское сообщество, со многими пересекался в дальнейших своих экспедициях. Под Броуд Пиком Слава познакомился с поляками, которые потом пригласили его в экспедицию на Аннапурну осенью 1996 г.