K-2 8611 m
23.07.1994, Abruzzi route, "Odessa" alpine club expedition.
"We found the bodies of our friends two hundred meters before the summit. The climbing lost any sense"

Members of expedition:
1. Sviridenko V.S., leader of the expedition
2. Boiko V.
3. Dudko V.
4. Gorbenko M.
5. Haraldin A.
6. Ibrahim-Zade D.
7. Mogyla V.
8. Parkhomenko A.
9. Serpak A.
10. Terzyul V.
11. Vlasenko A.
12. Zavershinskiy Yu.

Sviridenko V., Master of Sport, Honoured Coach of Ukraine, city of Odessa:

K-2 is a very difficult mountain, and the traditional route via the Abruzzi ridge is extremely dangerous. Therefore we developed a tactic allowing a climb in two ascents. That is why an ascent to Rackiot peak was planned, so the men would come to K-2 already acclimatized. Groups were formed of four people each. Serpak, Parkhomenko, Ibrahim-Zade and Haraldin went first to the mountain. They had to decide their course. My plan was the same as for Kanchenjunga, to give everybody a chance to climb. A day before our group a team of famous western climbers were ascending, including Velitskiy, Rob Hall, V. Gustafson and others, but 100 meters before the summit bad weather forced them to turn back to their assault camp. Our guys went out to attempt the summit that night, leaving their portable radio behind. Serpak returned, but the other three did not come back. It was necessary to find out what had happened. So one more attempt to summit was undertaken. After estimating the condition of the team members, I understood that only Terzyul and Gorbenko were able to go. Terzyul was in perfect shape. He was going quickly and joined some Germans (Amical, V.Gustafson and others) on the final stretch of the route. Together they reached the bodies of our deceased friends. Then they continued to the summit. The Germans promised Terzyul they would help tie up the bodies on the way back, but left him alone to bury his friends. The weather got worse and everybody hurried down. At twilight our climbers descended to summit camp.

Gorbenko M., Honoured Master of Sport, city of Odessa:

The expedition to K-2 was started unusually, with acclimatization on the massif of Nanga Parbat and ascent to Rakhiot peak (7134m).
Since the beginning Vladislav steadily recorded with a video camera. He proved to be creative in his movies about Ukrainian expeditions in the Himalayas and Karakoram. On the way to Nanga Parbat he was so enthusiastic documenting with the video camera that an avalanche almost appeared in there. But what pictures he got!
During a break in Skardu, we celebrated Vladislavs birthday and wished him to summit all the worlds eight thousand meter peaks. Possibly at that time he decided for himself to climb without the use of supplementary oxygen. This had been achieved before him by only one or two persons. We worked on the route of K2 with three groups. Vladislav and I chose not to use oxygen in our group from the very beginning. In summer 1994 Mt. Chogori (K2) resisted all the attempts of foreign alpinists to pass the Abruzzi ridge. Deep snow and stormy wind had closed the summit for two weeks. However, our expedition settled down in BC at 5300m and intermediate camps C1 (6100m), C2 (6800m) and C3 (7400m). The group led by A. Parkhomenko and A. Serpak, during the second ascent, reached the elevation of 7800m and set up C4 on the 9th of July.


V.Terzyul is reaching C2.


K2 from the summit camp C4.

Next day this group, including Alexander Parkhomenko, Dmitriy Ibrahim-Zade, Alexey Haraldin and Alexander Serpak, with permission from the head of the expedition, V. Sviridenko, left for the summit at 2:00 at night. The weather was normal. They had observed patches of clouds till 17:00 oclock, when the weather abruptly got worse. A.Serpak came back to C4 from around 8000m and informed us that the guys had assaulted the summit without their portable radio.
Our group, making its third ascent, reached C3 (7400m) on that day. Next day we three, with wind and no visibility which increased the difficulty of finding fixed ropes and landmarks, climbed the shoulder. We came to the tent of A.Serpaks group and were informed that three people did not come back. At once, Vladislav Terzyul and Yuriy Zavershinskiy made an attempt to rescue them but were forced to return. Next day Vladislav and I again tried to reach at least 8000m, marking our way. The next four days of waiting for weather and attempting to pass through the storm ended without result. It was necessary to rescue ourselves because we had been trapped. The way down was blocked by avalanche-prone slopes without fixed ropes. Having discussed the situation with Vladislav we arrived at a decision to fix all three ropes available and cut along the slope vertically. The dangerous descent finished successfully and all six guys arrived at BC on the 16th of July. At that time Americans, Germans and Koreans climbed to C2, stopped and in a day again came back into BC.
Vladislav arranged a good sauna in a tent and possibly due to that we recovered in two days and were ready to go upward again. We were in good condition and literally jumped up to C2, ascending 1500m.


K2, a zone of assault.

We had been followed by five foreign climbers. On July 22 there was nice weather. On July 23 at 00:30 I along with Vladislav put on crampons and left our tent under frost and stars. At 8000m we had radio contact. We passed a key pitch, the bottle, a zone of steep icy walls under a huge icefall, at dawn. We moved using the rope by turns and traversed the wall to the left, then went straight upward. We had come to a snow slope where about 10:00am, at the altitude of 8350m, we found our frozen friends, A. Parkhomenko and A.Haraldin, clipped to the icy fixed rope. Dmitriy was not found. While we looked over the place of tragedy and took photos five foreign climbers appeared walking 80 meters to our right. Vladislav decided to join them. I stayed, providing radio communication with BC to agree on further actions. The decision was made to prolong the search on the way to the summit. The last 100 meters were the hardest ones because of deep snow, especially on such a height and without oxygen. At 13:00 I was at the icy hat of K2. I did not see any new information about what happened. I fixed the pennant of our alpine club Odessa with pieces of ice. Many years later a Spanish climber, Vladislavs friend, gave this pennant back to him. When I was on the top, Vladislav by himself made a rope system and put the bodies into the ice crack. We proceeded searching during our descent but the weather abruptly got worse (this is a specific feature of Chogori), and we were forced to struggle for survival. The ropes that we fixed during our way uphill and the landmarks we put in were very useful.


V.Terzyul on the top of K2.

Vladislav and I have never had such a hard climb. When we descended, evacuating intermediate camps, Vladislav surprised me again by pulling out pieces of old ropes souvenirs of a famous mountain from his backpack. Those ropes as well as ones brought from other peaks presented to me by my friend are hanging in the alpine club and in my home. They remind me about that Great Alpinist who loved high mountains more than his own life!

БиографияВосьмитысячники
 
 
K-2 8611 м
23.07.1994, по пути Абруцкого, экспедиция альпклуба "Одесса".
"Мы нашли тела наших товарищей в двухстах метрах от вершины, восхождение потеряло смысл…"

Состав экспедиции:
1. Свириденко В.С., руководитель экспедиции.
2. Бойко В.
3. Власенко А.
4. Горбенко М.
5. Дудко В.
6. Завершинский Ю.
7. Ибрагим-Заде Д.
8. Могила В.
9. Пархоменко А.
10. Серпак А.
11. Терзыул В.
12. Харалдин А.

Свириденко В.С., МС, заслуженный тренер Украины, г. Одесса:

К2 - это очень сложная гора, и традиционный маршрут, ребро Абруцкого, - чрезвычайно опасен. Поэтому тактика должна была строиться с расчетом на то, чтобы за два выхода подняться на вершину. Для этого и было запланировано восхождение на пик Ракхиот, и ребята приехали на К2 уже акклиматизированные. Первой пошла на гору четверка Серпак, Пархоменко, Ибрагим-Заде, Харалдин, они же и должны были решить, что делать дальше. Я исходил из того, чтобы каждому, как и на Канченджанге, дать шанс на восхождение. Впереди, на день раньше нашей четверки, шла группа известных западных альпинистов - Велицкий, Роб Холл, В. Густавсон и др., которые из-за плохой погоды в 100 метрах от вершины вынуждены были вернуться в штурмовой лагерь. А наши в ту ночь выходили наверх. Вышли без радиостанции. Серпак ушел вниз, а трое не вернулись. Мы должны были узнать, что с ребятами. В связи с этим была предпринята еще одна попытка восхождения. Проанализировав состояние всех участников, поняли, что только Терзыул и Горбенко могут идти. Терзыул был в прекрасной форме, шел быстрее и на штурмовом участке присоединился к немцам (группа фирмы Амикал и В.Густавсон), вместе с ними вышел к телам погибших, а потом и на вершину. Немцы сказали, что помогут закрепить тела на обратном пути, но оставили Терзыула самого хоронить ребят. Погода начинала портиться, и все спешили вниз. Вечером наша двойка спустилась в штурмовой лагерь.

Горбенко М.М., ЗМС, г. Одесса:

Начиналась одесская экспедиция на К2 необычно - с акклиматизации на склонах горного массива Нанга Парбат, с восхождения на пик Ракхиот (7134 м).
Владислав еще тогда постоянно вел видеосъемку и в дальнейшем раскрылся как творческий человек в своих многочисленных фильмах об украинских экспедициях в Гималаи и Каракорум. На подходе он так увлекся съемкой лавины со склона Нанга Парбат, что сам чуть в нее не попал. Но какие получились кадры!
На отдыхе в Скарду мы отметили день рождения Владислава и пожелали ему покорить все восьмитысячники мира. Может быть, именно тогда он и принял для себя решение совершить эти восхождения без применения кислорода, что сделали до него 1-2 человека на всей планете.
Обработку маршрута на К2 мы вели тремя группами. В нашей с Владиславом группе изначально было принято решение не применять кислород. В летнем сезоне 1994 года вершина Чогори отбила все попытки зарубежных альпинистов пройти ребро Абруцкого. Глубокие снега и ураганный ветер закрыли вершину на две недели. Тем не менее, наша экспедиция смогла установить БЛ на 5300 метров и промежуточные лагеря Л1 (6100 м), Л2 (6800 м) и Л3 (7400 м), а группы А. Пархоменко и А. Серпака на втором выходе достигли высоты 7800 метров и установили 9 июля лагерь Л4.

В.Терзыул подходит к Л2.


К2 из штурмового лагеря Л4.

На следующий день группа в составе Александра Пархоменко, Дмитрия Ибрагима-3аде, Алексея Харалдина и Александра Серпака вышла по согласованию с руководителем экспедиции Вадимом Свириденко на штурм вершины в 2 часа ночи. Погода стояла нормальная, их наблюдали на 7800 метров в разрыве облаков до 17 часов, когда погода резко ухудшилась. В Л4 возвратился А.Серпак, который повернул с высоты 8000 м, и сообщил, что группа вышла на штурм без радиостанции.
В этот день наша группа была на третьем выходе и достигла лагеря Л3 (7400 м). На следующий день мы втроем с трудом (ветер, отсутствие видимости, затрудняющее поиски перил и маркировки) поднялись на плечо и чудом наткнулись на палатку, в которой находилась группа Александра Серпака, которая сообщила нам, что тройка не вернулась с восхождения. В тот же час Владислав Терзыул и Юрий Завершинский предприняли попытку провести поиски, но 6ыли вынуждены вернуться. На следующий день Владислав и я опять попытались выйти хотя бы на высоту 8000 метров, маркируя свой путь. Еще четыре дня и ночи ожиданий погоды и попыток пробиться не привели ни к чему. Необходимо было спасать себя, так как мы оказались в ловушке. Путь вниз отрезал лавиноопасный склон и отсутствие перил. Посоветовавшись с Владиславом, приняли решение закрепить все три верёвки и вертикально прорезать этот склон. Опасный спуск окончился благополучно, и все шестеро достигли базового лагеря 16 июля.
В это время американцы, немцы, корейцы поднялись до Л2 и остановились, а через день снова спустились в базовый лагерь.
Владислав организовал настоящую баньку в палатке и, может быть, благодаря этому мы через два (!) дня были готовы выйти опять наверх. Мы были в отличной спортивной форме и буквально взлетели в Л2, набрав за пять часов 1500 метров.


К2, штурмовой участок.

За нами потянулись пятеро зарубежных восходителей. 22 июля установилась хорошая погода. 23 июля, 30 мин. за полночь, в кошках вышли с Владиславом из палатки. Мороз, звезды. На высоте 8000 м связались, ключевое место «бутылку» - участок крутой ледовой стены под огромным ледопадом - прошли, когда светало. Попеременно страхуясь, траверсировали стену влево и далее - прямо вверх, вышли на снежный склон, где около 10 часов утра на высоте 8350 м обнаружили на обледенелых перилах замерзших А. Пархоменко и А. Харалдина. Димы не было видно. Пока осматривали место трагедии и делали фото- и видеосъемку, появились пятеро иностранцев, которые обошли нас в 80 метрах справа. Владислав решил включиться в эту группу. Я остался на радиосвязи с базой для выяснения наших дальнейших действий. Решение было принято - продолжить осмотр при подъеме на вершину. Последние 100 метров по крутому снежному склону дались с трудом из-за глубокого снега, что на такой высоте без применения кислорода, конечно, почувствовалось. В 13 часов был на ледовой шапке К2. Осмотр вершины ничего нового не дал. Кусками льда закрепил вымпел альпклуба «Одесса», который много лет спустя был передан Владиславу его знакомым испанским альпинистом. Пока я был на вершине, Владислав соорудил полиспаст и сам спустил погибших ребят в ледовую трещину.
На спуске мы продолжали осматривать склоны К2, но погода стала резко портиться (в этом и состоит особенность Чогори), и началась борьба за выживание. Выручили организованные нами при подъеме перила и вешки, расставленные до самой палатки.


В. Терзыул на вершине К2.

Тяжелее восхождения у нас с Владиславом больше не было. Когда мы с трудом спускались, снимая по ходу лагеря, Владислав еще раз удивил меня, достав из неподъемного рюкзака срезанные им старые перила со знаменитой горы. Эти веревки, наряду с веревками, принесенными с других вершин и подаренными мне моим Другом, висят в альпинистском клубе и дома, напоминая о Великом Альпинисте, который любил высокие горы больше жизни!